Parts of a Magnet

All magnets have 2 poles. The first pole is the north pole, and the second pole is the south pole. Every north pole repels from other north poles but is attracted to south poles. Like the north pole, the south pole can’t attract to itself either. It will only attract to the north pole.

A similarity is that both only attract to iron and steel metals. Brass, copper, and gold do not attract to magnets.